• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus EZ Mode overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

FX7026

Registered
So I am new to overclocking and am not brave enough yet to start messing with stuff in the bios so for now I just want a small overclock so I went into the EZ Mode in my uefi bios and just did the 1-click overclock. But here is my dilemma.....it takes it from the stock 4.0 to 4.2 which is all I am looking for right now since I just have air cooling......but after I do that and then go run prime95 it is not stable so I went back into the bios and noticed that the CPU voltage had been lowered after the overclock....stock was 1.356V and after EZ overclock it was at 1.246V. The setting is set to AUTO so I am wondering if I can just manually change the CPU voltage without having to mess with any of the other settings since I have no idea where to begin. Any information or tips would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

Here is my setup:
Motherboard: Crosshair V Formula-Z
CPU: AMD FX-8350 w/Cooler Master 212 Evo CPU cooler
Memory: AMD Radeon Gamer series DDR3 1866
PSU: Rosewill Fortress 750W Platinum 80
GPU: Asus Mars 760

well, if look at my last thread you will see we are in a similar situation. a small increase of .2ghz is certainly not going to be noticable! i have a fx8150 and gone from 3.6 to 4.4-4.6 and been on the border line with temps. i have a thermalright archon.

if your cpu is anything like mine then you should be able to change the cpu mulitplier in bios to something much higher than what u have now and thats all u should need to mess with. the temps on the FX series are a big issue though! your cooler should be reasonably adequate though. i ran 4.6ish and was hittin 57C in gaming....not great but not bad and your cooler is similar performance to mine.