• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus M5A88-V EVO - Help choosing suitable CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dimster

Registered
Hello

I want to buy a new CPU for this motherboard. This mobo has 880G chipset which is old, but with BIOS updates it supports the latest 8core E cpus.

I also know that it has 8+1 power phase which is good right?

What I want is to get the maximum possible value for a gaming build. I am not an expert by no means so please correct if I am talking crap.

So after some research I see that FX 6300 is the best value cpu for gaming among the amd cpus. But to get the value from this cpu you need to overclock it right? So will this mobo be able to handle this task?

Also looking at benchmarks I see that up to AMD r9 280x there is no bottleneck for AMD cpus. Above this GPU it is a waste of money to use Amd cpus and people should go with Intel.

Also how about the new FX 8320E cpu? Are they overclocking well or it is too early to say? I suspect in the newest reviews AMD could possible gave some good cpu samples to the reviewers.

I cannot find much info from actual users regarding FX 8320E stock and overclocking performance.

-I have a Scythe Mugen 2 Rev.B cooler so I am planning to use that (still better than stock AMD cooler right?)
-Thermaltake toughpower 500W

Any information is appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
Gaming build, I'd go with the FX-6300 or FX-6350.
With your cooler you should be able to get around 4.5GHz pretty easily for daily usage.

I'm using this board myself in my 2008 SBS. I presently have an x3 CPU unlocked to x4. It's a great board, very reliable and many OC options that I don't use.

I also use the Scythe and love it so much that I have three in total in my household. It's a great cooler.