• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ASUS P8Z68V-Pro POST Issues

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Orionf22

Greetings, all. This is my first time here, so I'm hoping to receive some advice. My recent build centers around the motherboard in question, and aside from a PSU which caused random resets (and was replaced), my build has been flawless. Well, yesterday this new issue came up: after putting my Windows 7 64-Bit system into hibernation and leaving it alone overnight, my morning startup saw a failure to POST within a humane time. It literally took two (or more?) minutes.

The BOOT_LED light is on, but for some reason it fixes itself, as mentioned above, in two or so minutes. I reset the CMOS and that solved the problem, but then I put it into hibernation again, left it overnight, and this morning I get the same thing. It did POST (I come to you now on the build using the motherboard), but it just takes two dang long. I'm doing nothing to the BIOS or any other form of overclocking. It's basically just the system as is with no modifications made on my part.

EDIT: I've also noticed something rather odd: if I move my mouse quickly to the start icon and into the lower left corner as far as I can go, the screen briefly switches to some blue state...it barely lasts half a second and appears to be some sort of flash, but I've never noticed it until now. My display also seems to be a bit slow to respond. This would suggest the video card for these problems, but not the POST delay. Weird.

It seems common policy to include system specs with every problem, so here they are:

The motherboard in question
i5-2400 w/stock cooler
EVGA GTX 460 (hell if I know which 460 it is)
G.Skill 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 at 1600 MHz (confirmed in BIOS)
Seagate Barracuda 500GB