• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon XP 2500+ Barton

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

urville

I'm new to the actual act of oc'ing in newer boards but not the idea. i used to oc my p3 but those were the sdram days. i've researched extensively and thats the reason for the post. too much conflicitng info and varying opinions for me.

specs first: msi k7n2-delta2-lsr motherboard
amd athlon xp 2500+ barton week 55 i think
dual channel kit pqi turbo memory 2 modules of 256 pc3200
antec fan/heatsink combo rated to 3200+ Xp
antec slk1650 solution series with smart power supply
ati radeon 9600xt 128mb agp 8x
windows xp pro

first i noticed if i install and try to overclock using the corecenter application it will turn my processor fan off completely. anyone else have this problem its aggravating and if i uninstall no problems.. scary really...
also, my ram never runs at the stock 2.5 cas it automatically sits at 2.0 of course i should factor in the fact that the ram states it's good for overclocking and at stock i'm running it low at the stock 333 or pc2700 specs. it's just weird.

secondly i know the chip is locked, and during inital and early research i uppd the fsb to 200 and got a blue screen of death before getting anywhere near into windows. i usually run about 33 to 35 degrees celcius when at stock everything.
i see alot of ppl say dont let it over 50 celcius or even 60 celcius. amd states 85 celcius although i am aware that should be A> under full load and b> the highest maximum and anything near it will surely halflife the cpu lifespan.