• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bios Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Able Archer

Hello forum members.

I am hoping someone can give me some advice on how to tweak the Bios settings of my PC.

What I have is a home built gaming computer that was built by my father a few years ago.

I have been working overseas for a few years and I am back home now .I decided one morning to switch on the PC but received a “CMOS Checksum Error “this was due to the Mother Board battery being flat, I replaced the battery and the PC booted up, I had to re-set the Time, Date, etc on the first Bios screen and found that the Bios is now running in it’s default settings. The PC does boot up all the way through into Windows but it is not running as fast as it use to do, which is understandable.

I would of liked to have asked my father to restore the Bios settings but unfortunately he passed away back in 2008, so I would be grateful of any help or advice from forum members to get he PC running like it use to .

Here is the Hardware and Software contents of the PC:-

Motherboard Asus A8 SLI Delux
CPU AMD Athlon x2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
4 x 1GB of Ram DDR 4
2 X Inno 3D 7300 GT Graphics Cards
1 X Maxtor 6L200M0 Hard Drive
OS Windows XP Home 32 bit

I have some knowledge about computers but the Bios side of things is something new to me and don’t really know what to adjust .

Thanks

:welcome: to OCF.

Your MB should OC pretty good. You'll find all the settings that are adjustable in the Advanced tab within your BIOS. The manual for the A8-SLI Deluxe is available here:

http://www.asus.com/supportonly/A8NSLI Deluxe/#support_Download