• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cannot OC FX 8350 / M5A99FX Pro R2.0

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

atlus

Hello Everybody!!!

I have little to nothing experience with OC. Only tried to OC my old system (Phenom 955) up to 3.8 to daily usage. (never up from 60c)

Just upgrade my PC to a AMD combo:

CPU: FX 8350 @ 4.0 Ghz + Coolermastar V8
Mobo: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
RAM: Corsair Dominator XMS3 2x4 GB @ 1600 Mhz 9-9-9-24 1.5v
PSU: Thermaltake 700Watts
CASE: Thermaltake V9
Fans:

- Front (intake) :
120 x 120 x 25 mm 1300rpm, 17dBA
- Rear (exhaust) :
- Top (exhaust) :
230 x 230 x 20 mm 800rpm, 15dBA

Video: Shaphiere 6870 (No OC)
Sound: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

GOAL: -reach 4.5 Ghz on all cores at good temps fully stable.

PROBLEM: - Higth temps even at 4.1 :(
- errors on Prime95 and y-cruncher (I suppose due low voltages)
- Strange thing is that It have nerver crash, not sure if Win8 is super or what, but even a 4.5 low voltaje PC have never never crash.

Note: Screenshots where taken during Prime95 execution for about 30 minutes...

Attachments

• CPUz1-at-4.0.PNG
    CPUz1-at-4.0.PNG
    28.7 KB · Views: 1,420
  • CPUz2-at-4.0.PNG
    CPUz2-at-4.0.PNG
    15.8 KB · Views: 989
  • CPUz3-at-4.0.PNG
    CPUz3-at-4.0.PNG
    18.9 KB · Views: 1,029
  • HWmonitor.PNG
    HWmonitor.PNG
    39.8 KB · Views: 1,040
Last edited:
I little offtopic, Currently using Old RAM, because the new one was faulty. Corsair Vengane 2x8GB @ 1866 Mhz.

Is the second time I got problems with Corsair RAM, I have already buy: G.SKILL Ripjaws X 16GB (2 x 2x8GB @ 1866 Mhz CAS 9.