• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build, Please help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cuteninjagirl00

Hello all, so this is my first build and I would like some input. I am looking to make a gaming computer, well kinda. I am not a hard core gamer, I play games sometimes when the mood hits me but I'm hoping with a better desk top then what I have now I will play more. I mostly play WOW, Sims, and Smite. I would like a solid computer that isn't over the top, that will do everyday stuff with a bit of gaming. My budget is between $800-$1,000.

Wish list:
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=33250848

I don't have any parts yet, I want to keep the Intel core i5 but if there is a good reason not to please let me know. If you could, please let me know why not to use something on my list or why to use something else. I appreciate any input, I am here to learn. Thank you

For "800-1000", you can do a lot better than this.

Does that 800-1000 include windows and a monitor?

edit: I think you've fallen into the consumeristic trap of... "dude get an i5 for gaming!"... well thats cool mate, which one? For instance, you chose a much older than current architecture, non-overclockable CPU with onboard graphics.

edit 2: DON"T buy a raptor drive. Just dont lol. For that money you can get a 250gb SSD AND a 1TB HDD.

Last edited:
Well.. fellow ohioan (Im from C-town, but been all over, went to school at OSU)...

We can build something much better for the money. :)

Z/H/B97 board
2x4GB DDR3 1600 ram
quality 500W PSU (Corsair to name one brand)
GTX 760/770 depending on what is left over.