• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First post. First OC. Adventures of a OC n00b...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

CybrPunk

The goal: Core 2 Duo E6600 on air @ > 3.4GHz

First, a bit about me:

I'm not completely new to overclocking but I have to admit that my first exposure was during a time where things were very simple. Pop in Pentium 2 300a, set bus speed and run at 450MHz (yes, MEGAhertz). Voilla, overclock done! Well the world of overclocking has come a long way from those days and this is my first attempt since running my 300a at a 50% overclock. I'm a former network engineer who still has a love for computers and a hatred for the computer industry. I'm now officially an enthusiast and not a pro. I prefer it this way.

My Rig:

Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Conroe E6600 2.4GHz
2 GB OCZ Platinum Rev2 DDR2-800
Zalman CNPS9500
Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Foxconn Geforce 7950GT PCI-E
2x Raptor 500GB SATA
Lian Li 1200B case

The story so far:

I ordered my parts on Sunday but for some reason they did not ship in a timely manner. Finally, Friday rolls around and I get my parts. I'm wondering at this point why I bothered paying for FedEx Express shipping but oh well. Things like this happen.

I assembled everything and kept stock values at first. Windows loaded and booted up just fine - or so it seemed. It wasn't long before one of the 2 OCZ memory modules wouldn't allow the machine to POST. After a bit of research using the backup PC I found the right voltages for the modules, set the BIOS to the correct settings and....

nothing.