• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First time overclock, assist appreciated.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DontLaugh

Hey everyone, this is my first time overclocking a machine, so I thought i'd come here and see if you guys have any suggestions to improve the build.

Not sure what info you'll need, so I collated a little bit together, if you need any more, just ask.

MOBO: AliveF6G-VSTA
Chipset: MCP61
Revision: A2

Graphics card: NVIDIA Geforce 6150SE nforce 430

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 x2 4200+ Brisbane AM2 socket @2200MHZ
Multiplier locked to [email protected]
Stock CPU speed: 200MHZ
PCIE speed: 100MHZ
Current speed: 2861.6MHZ
CPU speed: 260.2MHZ
PCIE speed: 130MHZ

Orthos and HWmonitor give temperatures between 55-61C at 100% CPU load. I'm waiting on 4x4gb sticks of ddr2 before I can do full bench marks.

Is this a dell/he or something? If so, you won't be overclocking through the bios but have to find your pll# and overclock via clockgen or setfsb.

Nope, low budget retcon, with some spare parts I had laying around. Original computer was an ASUS, but the internals are cobbled together.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Cores 2
Threads 2
Name AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Code Name Brisbane
Package Socket AM2 (940)
Technology 65nm
Specification AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
Family F
Extended Family F
Model B
Extended Model 6B
Stepping 2
Revision BH-G2
Instructions MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, AMD 64, NX, VMX
Virtualization Supported, Disabled
Hyperthreading Not supported
Fan Speed 3125 RPM
Bus Speed 260.2 MHz
Rated Bus Speed 1040.6 MHz
Stock Core Speed 2200 MHz
Stock Bus Speed 200 MHz
Average Temperature 32 °C
Caches
L1 Data Cache Size 2 x 64 KBytes
L1 Instructions Cache Size 2 x 64 KBytes
L2 Unified Cache Size 2 x 512 KBytes

Last edited:
Update: