• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FX-6200, A little chronicled journey

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

skpwn

Registered
EDIT: See page 4 for my (preliminary) 4.4ghz run

gnusounduave has been sending me here for days so I figured I'd jump on in to the AMD forums and start a thread chronicling my 6200 overclock.

A little about my specs:

Fan cooler: Hyper 212+
Mobo: M5A97
Ram: 8 GB G.Skill
Vid Card: XFX 6790
Power Supply: Antec 500w
Case: Lian Li PC-K57

The only thing I'm worried about is my 500watt power supply. I started crunching numbers and I believe my system is using about ~350 watts total, but I'm no electrician.

I've got moderate OCing capabilities; My current rig has a Black Phenom x4 955 in it, that Ive overclocked to 3.8ghz and running stable. Anything passed that and I'm well over 55c on full load, but I'm in an unfortunate situation of being in a hot room.

BUT! Here comes the kicker: I'm moving my rig to the basement. The temperature down there is at least 10 degrees cooler as it's not finished, and I figured it'd be the next best thing to moving outside. On top of that, I'm going to be adding a 200mm fan on top of the case (we're doing surgery, folks), then doing push/pull on the 212+ to push all the air out. Since the two 140mms in the front of the case push more air than my 120mm in the back can get out, I figure I need a way to get rid of all that stagnant air floating around by my video card.

Phew..long post. If anyone has any suggestions, words of encouragement, or anything else they'd like to say, I'm all ears. :attn:

Last edited:
Welcome skpwn. How about giving us some captures so we can have a more realistic idea of what is going on.

Pictures can speak volumes describing what is going on.