• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Getting back into watercooling, need help choosing parts

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dakyris

Hey guys, I got the upgrade fever again and since most of my parts are pretty much maxed out, I'm turning to the cooling system. I find my current kit a bit too loud for my taste so I'd like to dabble into watercooling again. Now I'm not a total newb, I did have a custom build 7-8 years ago and it worked really well for almost 5 years (until my landlord screwed up the transformer and blew up my 2 psus and my mobo).

I must admit I'm a bit out of the loop (bad pun not intended) hardware wise. I doubt most of my old components are still usable (not properly stored, incompatible blah blah blah) so I'll buy everything new, difference is this time I actually have a decent budget haha.

Ok the system I want to cool is in my sig but I'll repeat it anyway :
Core i7 3770k OC'ed (max freq will be determined after retesting with new cooling system)
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 (won't be cooling the chipset or anything like that)
2x EVGA GTX670 Superclocked 4GB (those fans are annoying)
Current case : Fractal Design Define XL (R1)
Current PSU : Corsair HX1000
Current CPU cooler : Corsair H80 with 2x Gentle Typhoon
Current Case fans : a mix of Noctua NF-P12 (2 in front, 1 at the bottom, 1 in the side door, have a few more spares) and NF-P14 (2 in front) and that weird angled fan at the top of the case.

Now I'm seriously considering changing the case/psu (won't be wasted I have a few motherboard+cpus laying around that need a case/psu) because the define XL R1 wasn't really designed for water cooling.