• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

H100 Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TekneeQ

Hi guys, I'm pretty new in the over clocking world (only 2 years), and I recently purchased an H100 to cool my i7 960. It idles and 40c at 4ghz, and I can't seem to get it to idle lower now matter what I've tried. I have redone the thermal paste 3 different ways and made sure to clean both the cpu and the mount properly each time. I've used arctic 5, and diamond but they really didn't make any difference. I've even mounted the radiator outside the case but it still won't idle under 40c and prime95 puts it up in the 70s. Is there anything else I can do?

Last edited:
Hi guys, I'm pretty new in the over clocking world (only 2 years), and I recently purchased an H100 to cool my i7 960. It idles and 40c at 4ghz, and I can't seem to get it to idle lower now matter what I've tried. I have redone the thermal paste 3 different ways and made sure to clean both the cpu and the mount properly each time. I've used arctic 5, and diamond but they really didn't make any difference. I've even mounted the radiator outside the case but it still won't idle under 40c and prime95 puts it up in the 70s. Is there anything else I can do?

First the paste. A little dot in the center of the cpu, about the size of a match head is all that is needed. Next I will assume you are running the 2 stock fans that came with it?? If so you may want to consider the purchase of 4 nice and quiet but good performing fans for a push/pull setup. Do you have the fans plugged into H100 or into a fan controller? What is ambient temp in room where case is located? Is rad pulling air from outside or from within case?