• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help needed lowering voltage on 2600k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jdfox

HI,

Specs

Asus p8z68 v pro
2600k @ 4.4ghz 1.310v
A70 push/pull
corsair vengance @ 1600mhz
1TB hitachi x2 raid0
power cool 80+ 650w modular psu
gtx 560 ti o.c
antec 902 v3 case

Ok here it is, im trying to set my bios settings manually to try lower the cpu volts a little as im hitting 71.c under load and i use my pc nearly 24/7 for work and gaming. everything is set to auto apart from RAM which is set at 1600mhz 1.5v load line is set to extreme and cpu volt to 1.310v.
im pretty new to overclocking the sandy bridges and read through a few guides but having no luck lowering the volts and getting stable. at the moment i can run prime95 all modes for a good 15 hours stable pass superPI 32 and intel burn test all run stable. im sure my chip can run at lower voltages and getting the temps down 5.c or more would be great so if anyone has had some experience with this setup id be grateful for some help.

thanks.

Last edited:
every chip reacts different to the volts. if 1.31 is the lowest you can get it stable on all the test you ran and you cant get it lower, then, you may be at the bottom line for that chip. Not much you can do about that, at least its stable.

If the temps worry you a bit (71C) is not horrific under load, and for me personally is acceptable, it may not be for you and thats cool too, but if thats the case then you may look into a better cooler, better fans etc!!

make sure you read the how to OC 25/26/2700k in the forums its a great place to start.

good luck

another question, which test did it hit 71C under load and was that the absolute highest temp, what were your temps on IBT as it will run hotter than Prime......