• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help with an asus m4n98td evo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

acutekat

alright i hope this is the right place to do this but here goes

i have recently purchased a m4n98td evo along with an amd phenom II 1090t black edition and now have decided that i would like to overclock the thing

this is my first attempt overclocking and so far i have not gotten the results i have been looking for. the only semi-stable OC setting i have gotten was when i only bumped up the multiplier by one ( OS loaded and ran a CPU tester for a few minutes), any tomfoolery with the bus frequency makes the computer not start (like what happens when you ram isn't seated right is just turns on and off continuously or crash right when the OS is starting

the base cpu bus rate is 200 and the base multiplier is 16.0 i have only been messing with these two settings there are far too many options in and around the bios to attempt to keep and sort of experimental process going on

on the mother board there are two settings related to over clocking, the core unlocker switch (which i have on ) and the overvoltage jumper (which i do not have on regular voltage allows up to 1.5 and over volt to 1.85)

i would appreciate any insight or advice you could render

here's the processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103849

ram is a 1600 g skill ddr3

Last edited:
. . .any tomfoolery with the bus frequency makes the computer not start http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103849ram is a 1600 g skill ddr3