• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HTPC overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
Same as anything else AMD. Bump the baseclock to 205, test, reboot, bump to 210, test, reboot, 215....add voltage if needed. :D

tried a couple of different combos it doesnt boot. I am new to amd overclocking. i tried 205 x7 didnt work. I read online at this board that the voltages all have to be tweaked just to get it started.

Do you know safe voltages for the AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz

The "AMD safe" voltages for the 250 X2 are 1.20-1.45 for the vCore and 1.15-1.20 for the cpuNB voltage (not to be confused with the NB chipset). I'd start at 1.35 vCore and 1.15v for the cpuNB and work up from there as needed.

I'd also set the vDIMM at 1.85 just for good measure. The small 0.05v won't hurt if your board keeps a solid vDIMM but if it can't the extra voltage will make sure the RAM isn't under-volted. You'll also need to lower your RAM speed down one notch to keep from overclocking the RAM (you can OC it after you're done with OC'ing the CPU, if you want) and I'd lower the HT Link multiplier to keep the HT Link speed at or below 2000 MHz.

The cpuNB multiplier is harder to predict but it may need lowering later on as well. A higher cpuNB often makes the CPU OC more stable but you can get too much of a good thing - this is where the experimenting part comes in as every system is different. ;)

After you've manually set the vCore and cpuNB voltage and lowered the other clocks you can move on to OC'ing the CPU following xokeman's quick, but correct, sequence. Keep us posted on results if you can - and good luck ... :)

Last edited: