• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 930 Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R overclock help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RomieYO

Hey guys. I was just wondering if any of you guys already have a set up that is similar to mine that I can try your settings and stress test. I'm not too good at all of this and every manual I've read has been confusing to me. Here are my settings. Right now I'm at 2.8 GHz.

G.SKILL Sniper (2x8GB) DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R motherboard
i7 930
Cooler Master Hyper 212 CPU Cooler
ATI Raedon 5770
Windows 7 64 bit
1.5 Tb Corsair HDD.

I'm running something similar. how much of an overclock are you wanting to run? If you want to try 4ghz I can post my settings as is, or change them as needed for the overclock you want.

EDIT - just curious is that supposed to say 3 sticks of memory rather than 2? X58 mainly supports memory in triple channel mode, though it may revert back to dual channel if only 2 sticks are installed.

I'm running something similar. how much of an overclock are you wanting to run? If you want to try 4ghz I can post my settings as is, or change them as needed for the overclock you want.

EDIT - just curious is that supposed to say 3 sticks of memory rather than 2? X58 mainly supports memory in triple channel mode, though it may revert back to dual channel if only 2 sticks are installed.

My fault. It's actually 4 sticks of 4Gb memory. I was looking for a little less than 4 GHz. 3.5 or 3.6 would be great. Thanks a ton.

here are some settings to try. even so, I can't recommend reading this guide enough - http://www.overclockers.com/3-step-guide-overclock-core-i3-i5-i7/

ok I'll post some basic settings. hopefully you wont have to change more than this