• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

IMPROVING STABILITY

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

andyctd

Hello!

I have a few months experience in overclocking numerous systems,
I work at company that build-install-test-oc's computers in the UK Im an apprentice and Ive come here to learn more about the settings I use because I get a lot of mixed messages at work.
I'm going to talk start off by talking about the two most common boards I overclock on; Gigabyte z97 and asus z97, and the cpu - i7 4770k (if this post progresses I will most likely start reffering to 4790k.)

Basically when I first started I was taught two sets of settings for these two manufactures, (mainly because of their wordings and language its obviously going to be slightly different).

I will First start with Asus z97 4770k 4.1Ghz

Go to Advanced mode - Ai tweaker
Set Ai overclock tuner to XMP if available
CPU core ratio - Sync all cores - 41
CPU core voltage - Manual mode - 1.175

Then enter DIGI++ and set
CPU VRM Switchin frequency - 350MHz
CPU phase control - Optimised
CPU power duty control - T.Probe

Now Gigabyte z97 4770k 4.1Ghz

Performance -

Frequency
CPU clock ratio - 41

Enter advanced cpu core settings
Uncore ratio - 38 (for 4670k) 39 (for 4770k)

Voltage
CPU Vcore - 1.175

Recently we've had a change in management and he's taught me a different way which is as follows

Asus z97 4770k 4.1Ghz

Go to Advanced mode - Ai tweaker
Set Ai overclock tuner to XMP if available if not Manual
CPU strap 100mhz
PLL selection - LC PLL
Filter PLL - Low BCLK mode
Sync all cores - 41
Min & Max cache - 41
Internal PPL voltage - Disabled
DRAM Freq - 1600 or whatever freq RAM is
CPU core voltage - 1.175
CPU spread spectrum - Disabled

Then enter DIGI++ and set
Load Line Calibration - Level 3/4
CPU VRM Switchin frequency - 350MHz