• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Motherboard recommendations for 4670K/4770K

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

-Ice

Still on the fence about which CPU to buy but from what I understand, both CPUs are socket 1150 so either one should slot in to the same motherboard, right?

At the moment, I'm looking at an Asus Z87-PRO Intel Z87 Socket 1150 Motherboard but the page says it doesn't do crossfire. Is this true?

I'm planning to OC the CPU --- find the max stable OC then back off a bit. I'm not going to squeeze out every last ounce of performance, but I will try a "medium" OC and if the performance gains (FPS) is good, I'll keep it at the OC but if not, I'll probably run stock or low OC. I have a CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo and Kingston HyperX 1600 RAM from my current PC which I hope to use with the new one.

Having said that, I wonder if I can save a bit by buying a lower-spec board? I've only gravitated to the Asus because of the reviews I read but to be honest, most of the "specs" are gibberish to me so I just look at the charts and read the conclusion/final word section :shrug:

I have two SSDs and two HDDs, one HD 7970 GPU, and a DVD-burner so nothing exotic. I am contemplating trying out a Corsair H100i Performance Watercooler but that's it.

So, does anyone have anything bad to say about the Asus Z87-Pro? Is there another motherboard that I should be considering?

I've tried to read up on reviews but the review for the Asus is a good few months old so I wonder if there's anything newer/better?

Thanks!

Asus Z87 A

Both the Pro and A support Sli and Xfire I don't know why Scan says it doesn't.

ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION)

Supports NVIDIA Quad-GPU SLI Technology (with 2 PCIex16 graphics card)

Supports AMD 3-Way/Quad-GPU CrossFireX Technology