• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My First OC'ing adventure : Phenom I x4 9650

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dennisdietz

Registered
Hello all,

Glad to have found this forum, there seems to be quite a wealth of experience and information here. I am new to OC'ing but hopefully not for too long;) I've been doing lots of reading in the last couple weeks, experimenting on my own, and finally get to wanting to share my experiences and ask some questions. Hoping for a warm welcome:)

My specs: AMD Phenom I x4 9650, ASus M3A78-CM using on-board graphis (raedon 3100), 2 x 2GB Crucial RAM DDR2-800 (JEDEC #3 400MHz, 6-6-6-18-24), AC Freezer PRO 64 (currently 2 days old from time of post), 1x120mm front fan IN, 2x120mm fans OUT, Antec 300 case, Antec Earthwatts 650w, HDD: 500GB WD Black -OS, 1Tb WD Black- Data, 800gb WD Green Backup Data. Windows 7 Pro x64.

Current OC is 2.806 MHzis 244 x 11.5, vCore +100mV @ ~1.26-1.28V, NB +100mV (unsure actual voltage, AOD says 1.25 but also claims vCore is 1.15 so I don't trust that), HT Freq at 1220 (5x multi), NB Freq at 2196, Ram UNgnaged set at 333MHz in Bios yielding 406.7 MHz, 3:5 ratio. Clocks set manually in Bios to 6-6-6-16-21 (SPD at 333 is 5-5-5-15-20 and at 400 6-6-6-18-24).

My motherboard and CPU seem a bit limited for adjustability and there are no hidden advance features;( CPU multi has upper limit of 11.5 and no adjustment possible of NB multi (9x only). I have set the RAM timing loose (+1 for CL, TRP, TRCD, TRAS, TRC) and at 333 trying to boost the FSB and core speed.