• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My First Post! Heat Sensitive Color Changing Computer Case.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kdh

Registered
I swear I'm not a spammer. Just excited to share this creative mod that I did this weekend. I've posted it on a few of the other forums I'm on and have gotten a pretty good response. Hope you guys dig it as well.

A few weeks ago, there was a link to a youtube video where some folks painted a car with some color changing paint. I really liked the idea, and wanted to mess with the concept. Messed with a few test pieces, and then decided to pull the trigger. Before I go any further.. I'm not really a case modder. I usually buy barebones cases for my needs. By day I'm a SAN admin. By night, a dnb dj, and paint gun terrorist.

I went to Frys on Friday and picked up this case for about 35$ with tax.

computer0001.jpg

Unboxed.

computer0002.jpg

Unboxed

computer0003.jpg

Tore it down, and took a perfectly good case and scuffed it up with some 600 grit paper. No turning back now. :D

computer0004.jpg

Front shot.

computer0005.jpg

Mixed up my basecoat. I used a 2 Oz of Nissan Metallic Silver, 2 Oz of Honda Accord Metallic Blue and 4oz of reducer. SpiesHecker for those that might want to know.

Here it is in the cup.

computer0008.jpg

oh.. You want to see a video of the color being mixed?

I sealed the case with a black sealer, and then based on the case with the mixture above. The only way to describe the color at this point is blue steel. (zoolander would be proud). The lighting doesn't really show the color at this point.

computer0009.jpg