• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Need help to Overclock Asus X551MA

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Crieky

How to Overclock CPU ASUS X551MA

https://www.asus.com/Laptops/X551MA/]I've got all updated drivers to bios. I also ran ASUS GPU Tweak II But I want to overclock the CPU and increase the fan speed. Edit. The only thing I have tried is it MSIAfterburner Setup462.exe

and nothing happened like I couldn't get access to the actual CPU at all.

I haven't actually tried to ovarclock this device before so, complete beginner ,downloaded an app and it doesn't get access to the the CPU. This is a complete noob question.

Specs and Afterburner app as you can see doesn't let me do anything.

EDIT BIOS SCREEN SHOT

Last edited:
Of course MSI Afterburner will only overclock GPUs, not CPUs.

Most laptops are not overclockable. There are some higher end gaming laptops that have some overclocking features but the laptop you reference is an entry level product. In addition, most of us do not recommend overclocking laptops since that generally involves increasing voltages. That just makes them run hotter and laptops generally have marginal cooling to begin with.

The best thing you can do to increase the performance of that laptop is to replace the slow spinner hard drive with an SSD. At least that will improve boot times and program loading times.

Thanks you! I just thought I'd give it a shot and see what happens but the solid state drive sounds really good so that's next on the list. You've been most helpful and informative.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

Of course MSI Afterburner will only overclock GPUs, not CPUs.