• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with ATI RADEON 9600XT

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mkirby

Here we go. Im new to OCing, and i want to max my ATI RADEON 9600XT to the max.

Now, how will i OC it?

Should i flash the bios and how would i do it?

any tools to monitor clock/memory speeds and temps?

COOLING:

EITHER a -P4 stock heat sink (copper center, ALUM. fins) OR
-AMD 2000+ stock heat sink for the GPU( all ALUM.

Stock p1 heat sink cut into pieces and placed onto ram

All the heatsinks have been lapped with 2000 grit on a

Now, how is the best way to attach the HS to the gpu?

have the same card,dont know of any flash to my knowledge,your score is way low.at stock settings i get 4400-4460,check all your bios settings.agp has to be at 1.5 (no more no less)make sure 8x is on,that sort of stuff.try ati tool 2.2 to do all your ocing,make sure your fan is at 100% all the time.i know mine is,never had a heat problem,although i have a side case fan blowing on it.

With my side fan blowing on the card it still reads 43*c. when i get home tomorrow ill check the bios settings.

i dont know what you can do about that horrendous 3DMark score but i used to use a 9600xt and i feel sorry for you.increase the core and memory speed at the same time by 5mhz until you have increased both clocks by 25mhz.than try playing your games.if your games artifact or freezes reboot and report back here immediately.if not keep on happily gaming.

mkirby said:
i just ran 3dmark03 and got 1941...WTF?

turn off aa/af you should get like 3k or so, I get just over 2k with my ti4200. your card is almost as fast, however it has dx9 and can run mother nature which is worth at least a third of the total score. I do beat it in 3dmark 2001 and dx8 games but in dx9 its faster.