• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need HELP with overclocking 5930k/X99-A please.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ha55an

Registered
Hi everyone.

I'm very new to the Overclocking world - always had a keen interest, but never really got around to building a computer capable of it.

I finally bit the bullet and have put together what I think is a reasonable rig, but now that I've been doing some research into how to go about effectively overclocking it, I have been finding it very overwhelming.

This is the rig I've put together:

Intel Core I7-5930K 3.70GHZ

Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H60 CPU Cooler System

Corsair Vengeance Lpx 16GB 4X4GB DDR4-2666MHZ C16 XMP 2.0 1.2V Quad Channel Memory Kit

ASUS X99-A Motherboard

ASUS GeForce GTX 980 Ti Strix 1075MHZ 6GB 7.01GHZ GDDR5 DVI HDMI 3xDisplayPort PCI-E

Corsair CS750M CS Modular 80 Plus GOLD-RATE 750W 12V Power Supply

I was originally going to just use the AI Suite 3/Dual Intelligent Processors 5 software that comes with the X99 for my overclocking needs, but upon researching, I have found that the vast majority of people seem to disagree with using Windows-based overclocking and suggest tinkering with the BIOS instead.

Whilst I found the prospect very intimidating, when I learned that people suggest tinkering purely with the ratios and the voltage, I thought that couldn't be too difficult to delve into so I shouldn't bow to my own fears and should just bite the bullet.

I went into the BIOS to try and locate the settings that need to be changed, and whilst I think I found the voltage setting for the CPU Core, I am unsure what all I need to change regarding the multipliers.