• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Neep opinions on WC a Asus P6T deluxe NB/SB chipset

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stefmuzic

Hi guys,

New to the forum here. Also, new to WC. This is my first project. I bought the H20 220 Apex Ultima plus.

Computer is
i7 920
Asus P6T Deluxe
6 gig Corsiar Dominator
Geforce 260

I am not going to buy the full mosfet/nb sb plates for the loop. It is cost prohibitive for blocks i can only use on this motherboard.
So basically the way I see it I have 3 options.

1. Take the fins off of the NB and apply my MCW30 directly to the copper of the pre existing heat sinks

2. Put a fan on the fins and forego the WC on the chipset

3. Remove the whole fins/heatsink assembly, WC the NB and try and get enough Swiftech MC21 mosfet coolers to passively cool the SB and the other MB chips.

Either of the first 2 is preferable for me. If I can reach a stable 4ghz OC and my chipset be in no danger then I am happy regardless.

So..... What do you think? Which method is going to work better? Discuss away and if anyone has experience with this situation I would be very grateful for your knowledge.

Thanks,
Stefan

For 4Ghz I doubt you need to water cool the chipset, I am only cooling the cpu in my loop at the moment and I can easily surpass 4Ghz, and you will have a D0. So I guess fans would be efficient enough, as NB and SB blocks can be quite restrictive also.

Agreed, #2. You shouldn't need water on the chipset for that OC. You may not even need a fan if you have good case airflow. Install it, OC and reassess before adding anything.

One thing that will help a lot is to remove the HS assembly, apply good TIM and bolt the HS assembly down instead of using those ridiculous push-pins most manufacturers use. Here's an example of what I'm talking about.