• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Never Built a Computer before... how are these specs?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

lemmyk

Hello!

I am a brand new computer builder here... I've certainly had enough exp with upgrading and partial builds (have bought bare bones before) but never built from the ground up.

The wife has agreed to let me spend under $600 with OS and shipping from NewEgg. Here is what I've put together.

I've assumed that I can spend a bit at a time in the future for periodic upgrades (video, more mem, better Power Supply, etc...).

The only component I am salvaging from another machine is a 420w power supply.

Here is the list (with questions/comments sprinkled in):

1. Rosewill R6425 BK Black SGCC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail - $20 cheap case

2. Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM - $70 hard drive

3. ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail - $125 MB. I thought I wouldn't go with an ultra low board - as this prolly won't be upgraded for a long time. Will this last me?

4. Leadtek PX8600GT TDH 512MB GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail - $93: I am not a hardcore gamer, but I do like flight sim and some tiger woods golf. This should last a year or so, no?

5. G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Retail - $50. Will upgrade to 4gb very soon (first upgrade)

6. AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADA4600CUBOX - Retail - $88. Will likely upgrade in a year or so to latest (or at least a 6000 series).

7. Vista - $104. Ripoff, but what am I gonna do? The wife won't go for linux so not much else to choose from.