• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New OC hope this will work i7 920 on Gigabyte EX58UD3R

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jarablue

Registered
Hey guys. I am new to overclocking the i7s. Basically I have been oc'ing to 3.2 with the retail intel heatsink with no issues. I just bought a Scythe Mugen 2 Heatsink and a Silverston FM121 fan for it. The motherboard I am using is Gigabyte EX58-UD3R and Corsair XMS3 memory.

The cpu is Intel i7 920 FPO/Batch# - 3901A257 Bloomfield D0 stepping Packaged in Costa Rica on 5/12/2009. Is this a good candidate to get to 4gig? I am on 3.2 air now with 47-52c temps.

If you guys could give me any tips/rec I would appreciate it. Thanks a bunch!

:)

Set your bclk to 200, slow your ram down to compensate, set vCore to 1.3V... it should boot. You can then tweak the voltage lower/higher, as every chip will be different. The stock cooler will probably not be able to handle 1.3V, so I would definitely get the Scythe on there. 4ghz from a DO chip is a cake walk. I haven't seen a DO yet that can't pull 4ghz 24/7 stable.

Hello jarablue, i have the same CPU and Motherboard than you.
I would not add 1.3v and 200 BCLK in one step because of what i will say next.

I hope this info can help you, these are my Motherboard settings.
Set BCLK to 180
Performance Enhance to Extreme
DRAM Tuning selectable Expert
CPU Vcore 1.75000
Other voltages leave on Auto.
Keep in mind that as you increase your BCLK FSB it will automatically increase your memory too, so lower your memory to stock for a start and set timings manually on stock timings too. I am not sure how much you can push your memory, but don't care until you find a stable OC without changing them.

Go over the CPU Features and disable everything but Hyper threading and Intel CPU BOOST.