• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to LCDs - Guidance Appreciated

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Piazza0028

Hey everyone,
I just finished my first year of college, and during my second semester I started playing some online poker on my laptop. To make a long story short, I've done pretty well and would like to become more serious. In order to do this I have to abandon playing on my laptop as the resolution doens't allow me to fit multiple tables without overlap. My current monitor is probably 8 years old, and is really hard on the eyes, so I'm in the market for a new monitor. I'm looking to pick up an LCD monitor in order to replace my old CRT. Its primary function will probably be for poker, but I'd like to be able to play CS:S without ghosting as well. I don't plan on continually buying new monitors, so I don't mind spending money in order to get a quality monitor. Thus, I don't really have a set price range that I'm looking for, so I guess I'm wondering what monitors currently offer the best price/performance ratios for the aforementioned uses. Suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

In terms of what to look for in LCD... look here.

Check into widescreen monitors too... best bet is a 19" to 20" in your case if you want widescreen. Otherwise look for 17" to 19" for the standard square (4:3).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16824116373
This is what I have, and I love it. The price has dropped at lot over the past few months... I got my in January for $315. Now its only $270 with free shipping.
Widescreen is amazing.

tLove said:
In terms of what to look for in LCD... look here.

Check into widescreen monitors too... best bet is a 19" to 20" in your case if you want widescreen. Otherwise look for 17" to 19" for the standard square (4:3).