• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to OC'ing. AMD Rig Please Help..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DarkHost

Yes I'm new to overclocking and I just feel so lost.. I mainly play one game but I live stream at the same time. My Bandwidth is great but I'd like to get more out of my CPU and everything else. I built my rig not even 3 weeks ago. My PC specs as follows:

CPU - AMD FX-6300 Black Edition
CPU Cooler - Enermax ETS-T40-BK Black 120mm Twister
MB - ASUS M5A97 R2.0 970 AM3+
GPU -Sapphire Radeon HD 7770 1gb
PSU - Rosewill RD700 700w
RAM - G.Skill RipJaws 8gb DDR3 1600
HDD - 1T
CASE - Mana 136

The settings I play on ingame is only in "Good" but would like to be on "High or Ultra" with or w/out live streaming. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Your motherboard may limit you to very mild overclocking or none at all.

The first task would be to download and install these three helper programs: HWMonitor, CPU-z and Prime95. You need to stress the system under 100% load to see what kind of "package" and "CPU" temps you get before you attempt to overclock.

Open HWMonitor on your desktop and leave it open while you run a 20 minute stress test with Prime 95 - the "blend" test. Make sure you adjust the HWMonitor frame so as to be able to see "package" temp. Before you close HWMonitor make sure you capture it's image and save it to disk for uploading with your next post. This stress testing and temp monitoring exercise will reveal how much headroom for overclocking you might have from a temperature perspective as overclocking makes things run hotter.

Makes answering about overclocking an AMD cpu easier.

In bios disable C1/E, C6, Cool N Quiet, TurboCore (if there), Disable APM and in windows power manager set to "performance mode". Then do as below.