• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to the Overclocking world! - Phenom II X6 1055T ~help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bos_dc2

Registered
Hi everyone,
:clap:

I'm new to the world of overclocking and I think I finally have the right components to start tinkering.. I apologize if I'm either not in the right section or this has been discussed before. The searches I've scanned through were a tad more advanced and has got me hiding in a corner. :rain:

This rig is mainly used for gaming. Overwatch & Counter Strike.
Hopefully I could add some more spiff to this CPU before retiring it for a newer Ryzen series in the near future. I have not messed with anything in the BIOS at the moment and would like everyone's opinion on what I can safely achieve with regards to overclocking my CPU & Ram.

Here are the specs!

CPU | Phenom II X6 1055T
Cooler | Corsair H60
Ram | G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 2x8GB 1866 Mhz
Motherboard | MSI 790GX-G65
GPU | EVGA GTX 1060 6GB SC
PSU | OCZ 700W
Storage | Samsung 850 EVO 250GB SSD / WD 500GB HD

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your help is greatly appreciated!!

Welcome to the Forums Bos! If I may be completely honest with you I would not OC on that motherboard. It lacks the VRM power to overclock safely. That's not to say that it can't overclock. It just doesn't have the components to do it with out risking a meltdown.

For the 2 games you listed you are well within the requirements with your 1055T so I would simply hold off until you're ready for your upgrade. My son plays Overwatch on my old 1090T and hasn't had any issues.