• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to OverClocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MR.WaynesWorld

Registered
I'm new to overclocking so please bear with me.

Building a new PC for my home office and want to bump it a little. Motherboard is a Asus M5A88-M, CPU is a AMD FX6100 and memory is G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 16GB Model F3-10666CL9Q-16GBRL. I know the FX6100 will run at 3.1? as it stands but would like to get it to 4.0 GHZ..

What would I need to do in the BIOS to get this modest bump?

Thanks in advance...

Welcome!

Im not an AMD guy, but there is a bulldozer overclocking guide link in my signature. Read that and it should get you well on your way! :)

Wayne, that cooler may not be adequate for what you want to do. It's only a 92mm fan-based cooler. Can you give us more details about your system. like case make and model (good case ventilation is critical to low CPU core temps and low CPU core temps are critical to good overclocking), PSU make, model and wattage and video card make and model.

No Stock Cooler. I'm using a XIGMATEK cobra - d984 92mm HYPRO Bearing CPU Cooler. Here is the link to Newegg on it - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233025

Ok so I'm fairly new to it all myself also but I may be able to help you out here.

I have an FX-6100 and an Antec Freezer Pro Rev 2

--- EDIT, After looking at your CPU cooler you may actually be ok pushing it to 4.0 just make sure your CPU fan speed is set to 100%, monitor it in bios first before leaving it to boot? The spec looks roughly the same as mine.

MB, Power, Memory all in my Sig.