• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NOOB help with OC'ing a 2.4C Northwood LONG POST

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rochellcommaj

OK, Here it goes. I'm going to describe what's going on and try to see if I'm in danger of damaging my cpu. I'm a noob to the forum and just discovered it last night but it looks like there's alot of good info on it. This is a long one, so grab a cup of coffee, grab a beer :beer: , light a cigarette, or whatever you need to do to prepare for my long winded post. I look forward to getting sound advice from this fine forum.

My mother's computer was recently wiped out when the house was struck by lightning lately. So, she called me to build her one (as the rest of my family does) Stating that the insurance agency was going to pay for replacement. I got to looking around on the EGG for a setup for her to run. I had recently switched to Intel processors for hopes of better stability. Turns out it was nice. I had picked up a p4 northwood 2.26 about six months ago for a bargain price with a gigabyte board. I liked the stability and suggested that she try the P4 lineup herself this time around. She did have a Athlon 2500 barton core.