• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC'ing FX-6300 Tonight...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sun Tzu

Registered
Hey all. I've been an amateur OC'er for going on a decade now, but I've never really tried to push a chip to its max before. About 2 months ago I built a budget/mid-range rig just to run DayZ without lag, and watch movies. Here are the specs:

CPU: FX-6300
MOBO: ASUS M5A97 R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970
CASE: Corsair Obsidian Series 550D w/ 7 fans
GPU: Power Cooler Radeon HD 7850 2GB
RAM: G.SKILL Ares Series 12GB PC12800
HDD: 128GB SSD, 2x 1TB WD Blue
PSU: Rosewill Capstone 650W
HS/FAN: Noctua NH-D14 w/ Arctic Silver 5

Ultimately, I'd like to hit 5GHz, but I don't know how likely that is to happen. The Noctua is showing up via UPS today, and needless to say my Monday workday is absolutely CRAWLING along. Heh.

Any early pointers you guys have? Thoughts?

Welcome to OCF Sun Tzu
Couple things stand out, did you get a triple channel kit of ram??
Using air cooling the odds of you reaching 5.0 are slim to none, not trying to disappoint you just prepare you for reality.

Ack, you know what? I just realized that 4GB of my RAM is from my previous rig. So...my Memory actually runs as follows:

8GB: G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB PC12800 (dual channel kit)
4GB: ADATA XPG Gaming Series 4GB PC12800 (dual channel kit)

I was torn on whether to get a liquid cooling kit or the noctua, and after having read review after review on that monster noctua cooler being ridiculously strong but also ridiculously quiet, I had to give that a try. If I can get high 4's, I'll be happy...

For now leave the Adata out untill you get the setup stable then maybe you can incorporate back into the buil. As for the OC alot depends on the CPU itself, so 4.5-4.7 is entirley possible any more than that .......... maybe.