• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking AMD FX-8300

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

strider1

Registered
I've got an AMD FX-8300 that I've been having some weird issues overclocking. It's my first time doing it, and I've followed the general steps, but have a few questions.
So far, the furthest I've managed to get it to is 3.6ghz. Most people have managed to get theirs to at least 4.2, but for whatever reason I just can't push mine any further without crashes, even when increasing the voltage.

Here is my cpu info:
vpkTxfR.png

I'm running it on a GA-990FXA-UD3 with the most up-to-date BIOS. My one concern is my memory; I can't seem to overclock that at all, and I've had to manually reset my CMOS twice after increasing the voltage and speed. I'm locked at 1333Mhz. Here is my ram:
Hc53uqx.png

As far as BIOS goes I've increased the multiplier to something like 20x and have played around with voltage, though it's shown no real difference. My settings are mostly stock aside from disabling AMD quiet and cool.

Is my RAM causing issues? Here's the actual product link: https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f3-1866c9d-16gxm

Thanks for the help.

Attachments

• Hc53uqx.png
    Hc53uqx.png
    17.4 KB · Views: 2,892
:welcome:

Try changing CPU/NB 1.2v-1.3v and CPU/VDDA 2.5V, that should take care of any memory issues. Next try 4ghz 1.3v and if its stable up the multiplier from there. What's your cooling ?

:welcome:

Try changing CPU/NB 1.2v-1.3v and CPU/VDDA 2.5V, that should take care of any memory issues. Next try 4ghz 1.3v and if its stable up the multiplier from there. What's your cooling ?

Thanks! I'll give it a shot and update the thread asap. After changing those settings, should I change my memory frequency?