• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking an AMD Phenom 960t BE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

twofatslugs

Hiya, I'm interested in overclocking my AMD Phenom 960t Black Edition and am wondering on what a perfect, and optimal overclock for gaming performance would be.
My tech specs are as follows:
AMD Phenom 960t BE (3.0GHz)
Sapphire Radeon 7850 OC Edition (2GB)
12GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
XFX Pro 550w PSU
MSI 870a-G54 Motherboard

I'm wondering what the highest OC achievable is on this system, and what would be the best for gaming at. This is slightly due to the fact that I think my CPU is bottlenecking my Graphics card, I seem to be pulling on average 40fps in most games on high, which doesn't make sense to me. Unless that is what I should be getting.

I'm relatively new to Overclocking, I've fiddled around with AMD Overdrive just because I found it easier to use and less scary looking than the bios:-/

Thanks in advance!

Hiya, I'm interested in overclocking my AMD Phenom 960t Black Edition and am wondering on what a perfect, and optimal overclock for gaming performance would be.
My tech specs are as follows:
AMD Phenom 960t BE (3.0GHz)
Sapphire Radeon 7850 OC Edition (2GB)
12GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
XFX Pro 550w PSU
MSI 870a-G54 Motherboard

I'm wondering what the highest OC achievable is on this system, and what would be the best for gaming at. This is slightly due to the fact that I think my CPU is bottlenecking my Graphics card, I seem to be pulling on average 40fps in most games on high, which doesn't make sense to me. Unless that is what I should be getting.

I'm relatively new to Overclocking, I've fiddled around with AMD Overdrive just because I found it easier to use and less scary looking than the bios:-/

Thanks in advance!