• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking my 955 BE, bit of trouble getting past 3.9.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Badzyy

Registered
Hey there,

I'm pretty new to overclocking but I generally pick up things fast, I've done a lot of reading around but just can't seem to get the right help so figured I would post on these forums first up :D Cool 'n' Quiet is enabled as I'm not too sure if it's needed to disable, so where the picture shows 2.2ghz it's actually at 3.88ghz with 18.5x multi.

I would just like to know if there is anything else I should be doing to get it close to 4.0ghz stable or if there would even be any noticable peformance increase for gaming. Any help would be great, I can also give more info if needed.

Thanks.

cpuidi.png
[/URL] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

Last edited:
:welcome:
You memory is running@1680MHz, which is a tad high for the Deneb IMC. Try lowering it around 1333MHz to make sure it's not the issue.
What's your vCore/temps under Prime95?
You could also bring the CPU-NB to 2400/2500MHz with 1.25v (now standing at 2100MHz).

Thanks for the reply :)

I lowered the memory to 1400mhz (there wasn't any option for 1333 I think because of the HT.ref)

My vCore is at 1.48v and in Prime95 it's at about 50c, but always one of the workers fail, could that be to do with voltage?

Make sure to turn your RAM volts to 1.55v if its not around there already, your XMP profile for 1600Mhz was 1.65v. Phenom's don't like that many volts.

Have you turned off C&Q and any other green junk? also make sure you have Win 7 set to high performance in the power options.

Ok I've done both those things, running Prime95 atm at about 50c 1.5v.

This is at 3.88ghz, should I just bump the voltage and multi to get to 4.0ghz?

Thanks for the help so far.