• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Q9450

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cyber649

Registered
I am fairly new at overclocking, and I am looking for some help.

I have a q9450 on a Maximus Formula, and I am trying to get it to 3.4GHz. I am running high end air cooling for my CPU. But the problem is, that when I try to, the NB temps goes over 70c+. I used auto for the cpu voltage, because when I try to set it manually, it never works. The CPU voltages I have tried are between 1.24-1.4v. But I am pretty sure that I am doing something wrong to get a stable system.

I am not sure what voltages and settings I should use to achieve this clock speed, that is where I am clueless so I ask that you bare with me.

What I need is for someone to let me know the proper voltages I should use for the CPU, NB, SB, and any other things that I should set to achieve my desired speed.

Any help would be great, as I said I am a bit inexperienced in this area.

try this as a base to start from, you will need to tweak your volts from here.

Extreme Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
OC From CPU Level Up : AUTO
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 8.5
FSB Frequency : 425
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 110
DRAM Frequency: DDR2-1021

CPU Voltage : 1.30???
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.55
North Bridge Voltage : 1.45
DRAM Voltage : 2.10
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.22
South Bridge Voltage : 1.050
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : 0.67X
North Bridge GTL Reference : 0.67X
DDR2 Channel A REF Voltage : DDR2-REFF
DDR2 Channel B REF Voltage : DDR2-REFF
DDR2 Controller REF Voltage : DDR2-REFF
SB 1.5V Voltage : 1.5

Wow, thank you very much for that detailed list. I am going to try that right now and report how it goes.

Thanks again!