• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking RAM

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BCboneless

I have G Skill 8 GB @ 1333 MHz with an Asus P8P67 LE. When I manually set my RAM speed up my PC wont boot and my MemOK button is on. Do I have to enable X.M.P. to set my RAM up? How do I overclock it?

I am new to overclocking and any help would be appreciated.

Why do you want to run the modules at higher frequencies than what they're rated for? Depending on the quality of the sticks and the eventual effective DRAM frequency like DDR3-1600 for example, you'll need to loosen the timings and / or add DRAM voltage and Vtt. So in order to run them at DDR3-1600, and for example the modules are rated at 9-9-9-24 and 1.5V, you may need to loosen the CAS to 10 (10-9-9-24), the Command Rate from 1T to 2T, bump the voltage to 1.55-1.60, loosen the tRAS to 28, etc. Tighter timings at a lower frequency normally beats out looser timings at higher frequencies in bandwidth tests.

Because I want to = best reason to overclock. :)

What's the exact model # of your RAM? You definitely don't have to enable XMP to overclock it, you just need to manually set your memory's rated speed, voltage and timings. After that, it's a matter of seeing how far up it'll go in speed or how tight the timings will go. If they stop, add voltage. Rinse & repeat. Just be careful with voltage b/c it could start to affect your IMC if higher than 1.65V is settled on for extended use.

My RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231417

I made the timing 7-8-8-24 and I got a BSOD while Windows was booting. Should I add more voltage or is that all it is going to do?