• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please help me with my overclocking!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ULTIMATE_PLATAN

Registered
Specs first!

MOBO: Asus Sabertooth 990fx
CPU: FX-8320 (clocked at 4.0)
COOLER: Corsair H55 water cooler
GPU: EVGA GTX 760 2gb (SC)
PSU: Corsair 750watt gold
CASE FANS: 5

Ok here I go! Please if you don’t know what you are talking about don’t give me advice no hard feelings i just really want to get advice from a PRO! This way i learn something =)

My first question: I want to over clock to 4.6 or more if possible at some point and I was wondering if my cooler can handle the over clocking.

Second question: I did a small over clock last night and my CPU was HOT! I stress tested with prim95 and my temps were at like 65c-68c never hit 70c I’m new to over clocking and got the voltages and all from a YouTube video with my same set up.. Do you guys think it has something to do with the voltages being toooooo high that would cause the overheating? The over clock was only 4.2mhz....

3ed: this other forum told me to leave all the voltages on automatic and just change the cpu ratio and let the MOBO choose the voltages yes or no? Like is said guys I’m a noob and really want to know what I’m doing =) thanks in advance for all the help you guys will provide!

AND MY LAST QUESTION!! to get a steady over clock what would you recommend i set my voltages and cpu ratio to? fx 8320 i want to get a steady 4.2

I know its alot but please help!

"In order to be a pro, the basics one must learn first" - Yoda and I :p

Welcome!

In my signature is a link to the bulldozer O/C guide... Check that out first until the real pro's get in here and can help you along your way.

Need an established baseline to overclock upward from...