• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q6600 Overclocking Problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soulis101

Registered
Hello! I'm new to this forum, but I've been squeezing more power from mostly older systems for two or three years. I finally decided to overclock my main computer, whose specifications are the following:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz (Kentsfield, 65nm technology, 266Mhz default bus speed, stock cooling, multiplier locked between 6 and 9)
Asus P5KPL-VM mobo
2x Transcend 1GB 333Mhz RAM
nVidia GeForce 8800GTS 512MB GDDR3

Well, I increased the bus speed up to 285Mhz i.e. 2,57Ghz. without any problems or hangs, even in Crysis Warhead, where the loading time decreased by 5-10%.
Then I increased it to 290Mhz i.e. 2.61Ghz. No problems or hangs while playing CW, and the difference between 290 and 285Mhz wasn't obvious. Before I resumed by overclocking, I thought I should check my emails. That's when I realized Firefox was loading web pages at a VERY slow rate. I booted up my netbook and I verifyied that there was no problem with my Internet Connection, pages loaded like they usually do(I'm on an 8mbps connection). I took the FSB back to 285 and the problem disappeared (although it did reappear during my registration on the site, only briefly, on 285 mind you). The problem completely disappears back to 266Mhz. Is there any way I can solve this? Oah, and how can I stop SpeedStep? I set the multiplier to 9, switching off Auto, and then I Disabled SpeedStep, but CPU-Z shows the multiplier is 6x except under load.

Last edited:
First of all welcome to the forums! You will find a vast sea of knowledgeable people here, all of whom are more than happy to help with anything computer related :D