• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Randomly failing to boot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Monodoggie

Registered
Hi! So the problem is that sometimes when i try to turn my computer on it appears to be booting for a few secs and then dies. I have to turn the power off from the PSU and back on. Then after i turn it on it gives me the "overclocking failed, press f1 to enter setup" message. This started about one week ago. After i get the computer to boot up there are no problems what so ever. I've been using the same OC for 4 months now, without any other problems. I have tested the OC with prime95 blend for 2 hours with no errors and temps under 60c. I bought a new PSU and RAM dimms recently and did some benching with higher OC's with those, but nothing else has changed really. Any tips what i should look for?

Sounds like that Chieftec fire hazard, or an unstable CPU OC, is giving you grief to me.

I would test the memory with memtest and also leave all the exteral USB devices disconnected and see if this still occurs. I know that the sabertooth had some BIOS updates related to USB problems. That doesn't mean it's the problem but leaving everthing you can disconected can help solve the real problem.

Thanks Johan, i'll do just that. I have the USBs on all the time as i use some chargers on them even if the computer is not turned on, maybe it causes this.I'll also update the bios and see if it helps.

Just remember that if you update the bios all your settings will be gone. You'll need to input them all again manually so make sure you have them all written down. Just remember that although that PSU is new doesn't mean that it's good as ATM said. I remember your last post at 5.0 when you got this PSU. Have you tried just putting everything to stock for a week or so and see if this happens.