• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

So now what do I do..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Wetsuit29

Registered
Have this fine, totally unlocked computer, Not a Rolls, but not a Ford Pinto...
Gigabyte 990 FXA UD3, AMD FX 6100 Zambezi 3.3 Ghz.
Corsair Hydro Series H60 Cooling.
Sapphire HD 7850 1Gb Gpu
Sunbeam 650 Watt Psu
128 GB Crucial M4 SSD
16 Gb Kingston regular 1600 RAM
1 Tb Barracuda Green HHD
BlurRay Writer
and ....Win 8 Pro OEM
:comp:
I am new to this new BIOS, I have Award F9, I would like pointers and advise to improve my performance by about 1/3rd. I do not run anything that needs real performance but as I said , I am bored and this is a totally unlocked system....

Overclock the cpu? That will net you a noticeable difference in fps while gaming and general responsiveness while browsing and general use.

You can try changing the multiplier in the bios to get to 4ghz. No need to change anything else at first...Try that and run Prime95 small fft's test for 30 min.
If it passes without errors and temps are fine you can proceed to do some more tweaking.
Try to download hwinfo to monitor cpu temps.
You need to keep cpu temp below 60c to be safe.

I always like seeing AMD builds like this. This looks like a fine computer.

Like ivan said, no reason not to overclock it. 4ghz should be easily obtainable with that motherboard and cooler. Just increase the multiplier and the vcore a bit, keep temps below 60 and it should overclock flawlessly.

Increasing the multiplier should be simple, just calculate what number will give you 4ghz.

As far as vcore goes, I'm pretty sure 1.200v is a good starting point. If it is stable after stress testing then you can lower it. If it crashes then increase it. Do this until you find your sweet spot.