• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stuck on Overclocking my I7 4770k!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Skades

Hello everyone.

I am new to overclocking but read and saw some guides before.
Added to this: my English is not the best :D

Now my Problem:

1. I just started to overclock my I7 4770k
and started to flash the newest BIOS from the MSI Website! Mainboard = (MSI Z87-G41 - MIL-STD-810G)

From now i got Easy to 4.3GHz

Clock - 100*43

CPU RATIO MODE - Dynamic Mode
(otherwise i couldn´t Activate EIST that is required to activate Intel Turbo Boost) so as i set this to FIXED the Clock was not applied in windows itself.)

Ring Ratio - 41
(was on automatic as i tried to raise the clock higher but made no difference for the 4300 clock in terms of Stability)

Adjusted Ring Frequency - 4100 MHZ

XMP - Enabled

VCCIN Voltage - 1.800
(Manual set)

CPU Core Voltage Mode - Adaptive

CPU Core Voltage - 1.220

CPU Ring Voltage Mode - Adaptive

CPU Ring Voltage - 1.150

All offset modes automatic

Hyperthreading deactivated

Under Prime95 my temps are arround 70-78°c (Cooled down with a Scythe Mugen 4)

The Problem now is:

No matter what i try my PC starts Freezing as i start Prime or just Restarts without a Bluescreen if i try to go just 100 MHZ Higher on base clock.
i just tried 4.4GHZ with Automatic Ring frequency AND the same Ring frequency and raised the core voltage up until 1.300 but it freezes or shuts my PC down, sometimes i get a bluescreen too, the temps at the moment of the freeze were on the highest core @ 81°C

any ideas what it could need to get me to 4.5GHZ

i just was there yesterday without Prime95 testing setting where

Auto Ring Frequency

1.280 core Voltage