• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Thinking of a CPU upgrade...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

darkblitz05

Guys, I am planning to get a new CPU upgrade because my board and CPU and RAM is kinda dying.

I was thinking of getting the following:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600x or Ryzen 5 3600 <---- I need some help here what to decide :confused:
The purpose of the CPU is it is not just only for Gaming but also for rendering some video projects.

Im kinda new with the Ryzen CPU's, so its a bit tricky for me transitioning from FX to Ryzen :confused:
Enlightening me here would really be a big help.

SSD = ADATA SP900 128GB (reusing it from my previous build) / Probably going to upgrade to m.2 ssd
Cooler: IDCooling Zoomflow ZF 240X
MOBO: Asus Prime x570 P/CSM (not pro) (does this need change if I go 3600?)
RAM: 16gb (dual) DDR4 3200 G.Skill Trident Z RGB CL16 1.35v not sure also about this one (probably making it 32gb)
GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6gb (reusing it from my previous build) (does this bottleneck my CPU or the other way? :confused:
PSU: SilverStone SST, Strider Essential 700w <---- I need also help from this PSU, kinda having doubts about it if it goes well with the build that I am planning
Case: Tecware Alpha TG

VS my old BUILD...

was really working well but later mobo and ram started to die.
kinda hard already to find AM3+ boards

CPU = AMD FX 8350/ 4.1ghz
SSD = ADATA SP900 128GB
CPU Cooler = Corsair H100i Hydro Series
Mobo= ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
RAM = G. SKILL RipJaws X 8gb (2x4gb) DDR3 1866 CL9
GPU = GeForce GTX 1060 6gb
PSU= Cooler Master GX 550W
Case= Thermaltake V3 BE

I would really appreciate it again guys if you could help me plan this out and choose the better things.
My previous build was because of this forum and it was really a big help in getting the best parts that I can afford.