• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Toorox usb installation update problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

habbajabba

I grabbed a copy of Toorox 32bit KDE and installed it to my 16GB flash in personal mode. Toorox has this option and hd option right from desktop.
Toorox uses knoppix for boot hardware detection, and it's gentoo based.
I have to change the default lang to english at every boot and add a line of code to the aspect ratio I want "xmodule=(nv)" in order to get it to boot correctly without asking for a login, which btw doesn't work at all as far as I can tell.

I am a total linux newb and it took a minute of searching just to figure out how to use Porthole in root [sudo porthole]. Porthole is for updating the system (I believe).
In any case it acts as if it's working but always crashes after running a while and I don't know if there is a better way to update it or if there is a particular order either. I just checked all and clicked update.

If anyone has ever used porthole to update in gentoo, what is the trick for it to work? Or could it be the distro itself?
I already created an acct on the toorox forum & received the email confirm but it won't take. btw, toorox is german or english only

Toorox-I love that monicker, works awesome otherwise.
I need a decent persistent usb distro that goes beyond tiny-core. I tried linux mint and could not get it to work via usb and one other that as well just would not boot.
Thanks for any help in regards.

Last edited: