• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Trying to OC FX6300 to 4.3GHz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jimmymambo

Hi guys, I'm a noob when it comes to overclocking. I've read some guide to overclock quite a bit before posting on this forum so please bear with me :p

My FX 6300 currently running at 4.3 GHz at 1.38 CPU Manual Voltage and I've done some settings in the BIOS that could hinder the overclocking process LLC disable. Right now the temps are below 60c while doing both p95 for 1hour and Aida64 for 15 minutes. The voltage is stable at 1.302 ish and everything else works fine so far. What should I do at this point? Should I be worried of my Motherrboard VRAM since alot of people seems to be concerned about it when overclocking or should I just continue with stress testing. What's the best stress testing software for overclocking Thanks

This is my PC Specs:
FX 6300
Hyper212+ cooler
Asus M5A97 R2.0
2x 4GB HyperX Fury 1600MHz
GTX 970
Corsair CX500 PSU

LLC is usually on when overclocking. Any reason you disabled it? What do you mean motherboard "vram"? Vram is video card memory. Do you mean voltage regulator modules? The best stress testing tool or at least most widely used seems to be Prime95.

Set 4Ghz at stock voltage and LLC set to high.
See if you can run Prime95 blend without any bluescreens or Prime95 failing.

If so, increase the overclock by 100Mhz to 4.1Ghz and try again. Keep doing this until you bluescreen or prime95 fails. Then go bump the Vcore up by one notch and test again.

Watch the package temps, no higher than ~65C and the motherboard temps should be below ~72C.
When you hit those temps or go over 1.55Vcore, that will be your highest overclock :)

Can you get us a screenshot of Prime95 running and Hwmonitor (NOT pro version)?

Last edited: