• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What else do I need?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MrEd

Registered
My current build is noted in my signature below. I have an order for parts coming in for a new MB, (Asus M5A99FX PRO R2.0) and cooler, (Cooler Master 212 EVO). My goal is to overclock conservatively at about 4.3ghz to 4.5ghz. (Big OC numbers and newer parts can wait till later :D) Since I am new to overclocking and building from scratch, I thought I would stick my toe in and test the waters. While I have replaced most other components in a system, I have never done a MB or CPU or messed with BIOS.

• My thought is too install without overclocking first
  • Can I just assemble the parts and boot up?
  • Or do I need to do somethng else?
  • Then after getting my rig up and running again, mess with the overclocking

Trying to think thru my list of...

...what ifs.

Unsure of what ram you have. It seems like a single 8gig stick of ram by Adata. I have used multiple kits of this 2x4G kits with absolutely zero problems. Cas 9 and a good price right now. And NO heatspreaders sticking up in the way of an air cooler on the cpu.
$53.99
G.SKILL Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-1866C9D-8GAB

I would likely consider another fan like the one on the CM 212 EVO so you can run in push/pull mode for greater airflow thru the cooler fins. Of course you can try it with the single fan to begin with but you have been put on notice as it were. Speaking to that 4.3 to 4.5GHz range since I do believe it will be easier with the added cooling of push/pull fans.

Something like this may be helpful for cooling the VRMs if the CM 212 EVO does not hinder such use.

Antec SpotCool System Cooler