• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What type of cooling should I get? Noobie

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TribulationFu

Registered
Hey guys, I am completely new at building pc's and I am working on my first build. This is what I have come up with so far: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/FP8JHx I am trying to figure out what type of cooling system I should put into it. I was thinking about putting a custom loop in and have seen videos on it but I dont really know what it all means. I am looking for someone with some experience to help me out possibly. Also what do you think about my pc that I am building as well.

:welcome: to the forums!

That's a great build that you have there!

Custom loops can be fun but also frustrating and require a decent amount of homework, planning, and upkeep. I have a hard time recommending them to a first-time PC builder.

If you really want to do it, there are multiple sticks in the water cooling section of this forum that go over what most/all of it means. There isn't a 'just buy this' part to it though, as there are a lot of options to consider. I would personally recommend keeping the cooler that is already on the 980 as it is pretty solid and getting an aftermarket cooler for the 4790k, something either along the lines of a Noctua NH-D15/Phakteks TC-14PE or if you want to get your feet wet with water cooling (although it barely counts) buying a Corsair H100i/H110 or Swiftek H220x/240x would get you started. The benefit to the Swiftek system is that it allows you to expand it in the future if you wanted to eventually include the graphics card, for example.

My personal preference on memory is G.SKill and EVGA for video cards, but there's nothing wrong with what you have chosen there. The cooling depends on whether or not you plan on doing much overclocking.