• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

which amd proc to get / mobo help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MadOnion

I've chosen to get a new amd setup after my p4 2.4b messing up. I'm now finalizing what to get, i want something that obviously has a great price/performance ratio... and something that is very overclockable, but is very noob friendly (im new to overclocking). I've been reading that the xp-m series is great, so im deciding which one to get.

First off, newegg is selling two xp-m 2400+ bartons, one is 35watt and one is 45watt, the 35watt is $10 more, is that worth it?

I've chosen that these two are probably the best, the 2500+ is $2 more... but are there any hidden secrets why the 2400+ might be a better choice for overclocking and what not?

wheres the link for the 2500+ http://www.newegg.com/app/View...=19-103-401&depa=0 $89

heres the link for the 35watt 2400+
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...=19-103-439&depa=0 $87

Which one should i be getting?

Now for motherboards, i've been reading alot about these. I see that the nf7-s is very popular, $87 off newegg http://www.newegg.com/app/View...=13-127-166&depa=0

Is this overclock friendly? i hear there are built in settings, that with just one setting i can bump it up?

Also, will these previous p4 peices fit into the nf7-s/xp2400/2500 and work good? My nvidia geforce4 ti4200, and my samsung pc2700 512mb tcb3 ram? And my regular 60gig 7200rpm (ata?) drive.

For overclocking, i dont want to go major or anything and do mods on the chip, but i do want to get a nice boost out of it. Which links should i follow? i've been reading alot in general on the boards, but i want to make sure i got everything straight. How much speed can i count on getting out of this combo without any physical mods?