• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

x4 830 STUCK at 800 mhz?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sjuan

I'm new to all of this, but I built this to be the fastest I've ever had and I think its the slowest.
For some reason it seems to be stuck at 800 mhz instead of 2.8.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

show_oc.php

Disable Cool N Quiet and C1E in bios. Go into Windows Control Panel Power Options and configure it to High Performance. From your attached pics it looks like the "green" power saving, down-throttling stuff is still active.

Another thing that could be happening is that the bios can't identify the processor and so is assigning "safe" frequencies and voltages. Sometimes a bios update can fix that.

Thanks, I will try this later.
I heard that some bios updates can cause it to stay throttled down.
I didnt find any setting in bios to turn off cool n quiet.
I haven't tried to OC I'm just trying to get it to normal

Update:
I reset BIOS to optimal settings, set power options to max performance, and there are no newer updates for Bios.
Still don't see a Cool N Quiet setting to be changed

It is a little better, but still not right... Takes 10 seconds to pull up computer properties

I have a Corsair 64g SSD and Cooler Master N520 fan, so it typically runs at/below 40C.

Any other thoughts?

show_oc.php
[/url][/IMG]

sorry about that, I'm new to the forum thing.

This was a Tiger Kit.

MOBO > Biostar N68S3B
CPU & Cooler > PhenomII x4 830 @2.8ghz Cooler Master Hyper N520 cooler
MEMORY > Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 1 X 4GB
POWER SUPPLY > Diablotek 400w
VIDEO CARD > Onboard vga Nvidia nforce 630a
HDDs/Optical drives > 1 dvd burner 1 Corsair 60GB SSD CSSD-V60GB2 No Raid
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard
USB > Canon IP1800 printer / CA speakers / mouse / keyboard
O/S > Win XP Home sp3