• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

10GB of memory Overclocked

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Klimpen

So, now I have finished it up. The 10GB overclock.
It's not that strange as it may look.
I work as a reseller of computerparts at this place (in swedish *lol*) and I have access to a lot of boring PC-parts but now and then it's christmas when unpacking.

I collected ten different mem stcks to test at home.
1 kit of Crucial Ballistix Z503 (DDR500)
1 kit of Crucial Ballistix Z503 (DDR500)
4 sticks of ADATA with Samsung UCCC (DDR400)
2 sticks of regular Samsung (DDR400)

That sums up to 10GB of memory

The system:
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe with 1016 BIOS
AMD 64 3500+ Venice (on of the first on the market)
Antec NeoPower 480W
ATI X1800 XT 512
Everything cooled with water and a fan blowing on the mems to avoid overheating.

How I did it:
I was ONLY interested in how high I could OC them all. So I keep the CPU around 2.2GHz (it can go up to 2.85) so I would be sure a crash was not due to CPU.
I used SuperPi Mod and Prime95 to test stability.

So to get started I tested the Samsung in pair's (2x1GB)
I had no real expectation on those, I mean Samsung is just regular doll sticks :rolleyes: but they surprised me a lot. I wanted to test them at 1T since that is the aim on all tests.
I got the samsung as far up as 460MHz at 2.6 volt and running 3-3-3-8 1T
When trying 470MHz I could run SuperPi for about a few rounds below 1M but when trying 1M or 2M or Prime it would result in a crash and reboot.
So samsung is stable at 460MHz @ 1T and that is pretty awesome.
Higher voltage did no difference.

Second was the ADATA with Samsung UCCC and I had four of them so I set them up in two pairs and started with the first one.
Setting 1T to start with and started easy since I have no idea on how far these reach.